Friday, January 15, 2010

DVD Review: "Live In Tokyo" - The Michael Schenker Group - Released July 2005

While it's not the same as witnessing Michael Schenker live in concert, and the visual (one camera?!) and audio quality are patently substandard, this DVD still captures Michael's original, melodic, fluid guitar playing at its best.

The DVD is good value: two concerts; forty songs, 236 minutes in length, an excellent interview with Michael Schenker, and all the band members are in outstanding form.

Sometimes the best recorded shows available on DVD do not always catch an artist/group giving their finest performance. However, this DVD provides proof that Michael is an outstanding guitar player who remains grossly underrated and highly imitated.

Let's be thankful Michael is still playing and looks to be back on track.

Track listing:
1. In the Search of the Peace of Mind (Scorpions)
2. Doctor Doctor (UFO)
3. Let it Roll (UFO)
4. Natural Thing (UFO)
5. Lights Out (UFO)
6. Only You Can Rock Me (UFO)
7. Another Piece of Meat (Scorpions)
8. Into the Arena (Michael Schenker Group)
9. Are You Ready to Rock (Michael Schenker Group)
10. Assault Attack (Michael Schenker Group)
11. Captain Nemo (Michael Schenker Group
12. No Time for Losers (McAuley Schenker Group)
13. Save Yourself (McAuley Schenker Group)
14. All the Way from Memphis (Contraband)
15. Pushed to the Limit (UFO)
16. Written in the Sand (Michael Schenker Group)
17. Back to Life (Michael Schenker Group)
18. Love Never Dies (Michael Schenker Group)
19. Essence (Michael Schenker Group)
20. Never Ending Nightmare (McAuley Schenker Group)
21. Bijou Pleasurette (Michael Schenker Group)
22. Positive Forward (Michael Schenker)
23. Lost Horizon (Michael Schenker Group)
24. Too Hot to Handle (UFO)
25. Attack of the Mad Axeman (Michael Schenker Group)
26. Love to Love (UFO)
27. On and On (Michael Schenker Group)
28. Armed and Ready (Michael Schenker Group)
29. Feels Like a Good Thing (Michael Schenker Group)
30. Rock Bottom (UFO)

Bonus video - taken from the Unforgiven World Tour, Japan 2001:
1. Cry for the Nations
2. Let Sleeping Dogs Lie
3. Rock My Nights Away
4. Fish Dancing
5. Pilot of Your Soul
6. In and Out of Time
7. The Mess I've Made
8. Hello Angel
9. Fat City
10. Looking for Love

Further details available at: Amazon