Saturday, July 24, 2010

CD Review: Robin Trower - A Tale Untold: the Chrysalis Years 1973-1976 [3 CD Box set] - Release Date: July 26, 2010

A 3 CD Box Set containing Robin's five Chrysalis albums released between 1973 -1976 [including bonus tracks: B-sides; previously unreleased tracks] was released on 26 July 2010.

Robin Trower fans will have most of the tracks on vinyl, CD and MP3. However, the collection is a valuable insight into the songwriting, music and superb guitar playing of Robin Trower. The recordings highlight the exceptional vocals of James Dewar which were important in the creation of so many musical  masterpieces. Jimmy's ability to compose strong lyrics, and his musical bass playing, are on clear display. 

The drumming styles and techniques of the late Reg Isadore and Bill Lordan smoothly integrate into the song structures and provide a hypnotic rhythmic feel which make the songs timeless and unforgettable.

The essential message is that the songs on this selection capture a musician and guitar player at the top of his game creating music which is compulsive listening from start to finish. Each track sounds remarkably fresh rather than jaded. Few artists or bands - past, or present - deserve this accolade.

I am still taken aback by the soulful vocals of James Dewar. They have a deep spiritual dimension which take hold of the listener the way sunlight takes hold of each flower, each tree, all things on this earth: life enhancing and breathtaking.

The end result is music of high quality, lyrical, other-worldly, passionate, and memorable. Each melody, guitar solo, lyric, remains woven in my memory, and provides a river I can bathe in, as I wish.

Rock and blues at its finest.

CD 1
  1. I Can’t Wait Much Longer (2010 Digital Remaster)
  2. Daydream (2010 Digital Remaster)
  3. Hannah (2010 Digital Remaster)
  4. Man Of The World (2010 Digital Remaster)
  5. I Can’t Stand It (2010 Digital Remaster)
  6. Rock Me Baby (2010 Digital Remaster)
  7. Twice Removed From Yesterday (2010 Digital Remaster)
  8. Sinner’s Song (2010 Digital Remaster)
  9. Ballerina (2010 Digital Remaster)
10. Take A Fast Train (B-side of ‘Man Of The World’) (2010 Digital Remaster)
11. Day Of The Eagle (2007 Digital Remaster)
12. Bridge Of Sighs (2007 Digital Remaster)
13. In This Place (2007 Digital Remaster)
14. The Fool And Me (2007 Digital Remaster)

CD 2
  1. Too Rolling Stoned (2007 Digital Remaster)
  2. About To Begin (2007 Digital Remaster)
  3. Lady Love (2007 Digital Remaster)
  4. Little Bit Of Sympathy (2010 Digital Remaster)
  5. Day Of The Eagle (Single Edit) (2010 Digital Remaster)
  6. Shame The Devil (2010 Digital Remaster)
  7. It’s Only Money (2010 Digital Remaster)
  8. Confessin’ Midnight (2010 Digital Remaster)
  9. Fine Day (2010 Digital Remaster)
10. Alethea (2010 Digital Remaster)
11. A Tale Untold (2010 Digital Remaster)
12. Gonna Be More Suspicious (2010 Digital Remaster)
13. For Earth Below (2010 Digital Remaster)
14. Too Rolling Stoned (Live) (2010 Digital Remaster)
15. Daydream (Live) (2010 Digital Remaster)
16. Rock Me Baby (Live) (2010 Digital Remaster)

CD 3
  1. Lady Love (Live) (2010 Digital Remaster)
  2. I Can’t Wait Much Longer (Live) (2010 Digital Remaster)
  3. Alethea (Live) (2010 Digital Remaster)
  4. Little Bit Of Sympathy (Live) (2010 Digital Remaster)
  5. Same Rain Falls (2010 Digital Remaster)
  6. Long Misty Days (2010 Digital Remaster)
  7. Hold Me (2010 Digital Remaster)
  8. Caledonia (2010 Digital Remaster)
  9. Pride (2010 Digital Remaster)
10. Sailing (2010 Digital Remaster)
11. S.M.O. (2010 Digital Remaster)
12. I Can’t Live Without You (2010 Digital Remaster)
13. Messin’ The Blues (2010 Digital Remaster)
14. Long Misty Days (7″ Edit) (2010 Digital Remaster)
15. Let Me Be The One (Outtake/B-side to ‘Long Misty Days’) (2010 Digital Remaster)

I'm pleased this is not an anthology. A Tale Untold mirrors the extraordinary gift Robin Trower has to produce music that is magical, exhilarating and which is capable of raising the human spirit on each hearing. For that, I remain thankful.

Track samples and order available at: Amazon

Link to articles about Robin on Your Way To Music: Robin Trower


Anonymous said...

Finally A Robin Trower/James Dewar Box of my favorite songs " LOST IN LOVE " Didn't Make it !!! I think Robin should bring back some of the old songs that he hasn't done live in concert...that would be a twist. Trevor G Welch. Canada.

Ronnie Kerrigan said...

Hi Trevor,

Thanks for passing by and posting your comments. One of my favourite albums from Robin remains "Caravan To Midnight".

For me, it contains a number of great songs which I played non-stop in my car and with a band: My Love (Burning Love), I'm Out To Get You [great lyrics by James Dewar], It's For You, King of the Dance, Sail On. Jimmy's vocals are beautiful and soulful throughout the album, and Robin's guitar sound & soloing - while mostly flanged - is incredible.

Amazon are selling "Caravan To Midnight" & "Victims Of The Fury" as one package (19 tracks on one CD.

Best regards,

Anonymous said...

Love that photo with 3 SVT amp heads

Anonymous said...

Sounds like this should be titled "A Tale Untold...the Early Chrysalis Years". I hope they come up with part 2 of the Chrysalis years to cover "In City Dreams", "Caravan to Midnight", "Victims of the Fury" and "Back it Up". "BLT" and "Truce" happened inbetween "Victims" and "Back it Up", but Bruce/Trower compilations is a separate category.

Anonymous said...

Jim Dewar was a fantastic soul singer. For some reason the Glasgow area has always produced them - Frankie Miller, Jack Bruce, Justin Currie, Maggie Bell, Miller Anderson etc. Great site and I'm looking forward to seeing Robin in Aberdeen on Saturday this week.

Unknown said...